Studio Calico Kit – first timer

Since i discovered Project Life I have lurked on the Studio Calico website, looking at the busy chat boards and looking on in envy at some of the layouts in the gallery. It seemed an expensive monthly cost as i have a whole stash of stuff right?

I sat down to catch up do my November (and December) layouts. I have plenty of Blush core kit cards and some i have printed myself. I have now quite a collection of embellishments, alpha stickers, paper pads, wood veneers and so on… However, for the life of me, I could not make any of these compliment each other in a layout which i was happy with.

As if they read my mind, i received an email from Studio Calico offering me this months PL kit (January 2014- Far Far Away) for $5  (approx £3.50) plus p+p of $8.99 (£6.00). Well how could I refuse that?!

Ordering

PL (scrapbooking, or card making kits) are available to purchase monthly or as a subscription (6-12 months) I opted for the subscription. Your kit gets sent to you automatically and Studio calico subscribers get first dibs on add on kits.

Postage

As I only ordered the basic kit, my package was not heavy enough to qualify for UPS tracked postage, so i just had to play the waiting game. SC estimates shipping to take up to 15 working days. I ordered on the 2nd January, and received on the 19th January (which did include the New year break). The buzz on Instagram was that UK kits were starting to arrive, I was happy to find the Royal Mail card in my post box, so i dashed to the collection office to pick it up!

Opening the box

SC PL kit box
SC_box

Studiocalico_farfaraway
I admit, the box was a little smaller than I imagined, i suppose it was due to seeing all the SB kit boxes on Instagram. It was nice to see the kit in the flesh however instead of just seeing images! The cards were thicker than I predicted, the love hearts and days of the week tabs also had sticky backs which is useful. My favourite card is the ‘Let the good times roll’ and ofcasue the Doggy card, both i am saving for the right layout.

Putting it to use:

Here is how I used this months kit in my January layouts
SC kit layout 3
SC kit layout 2
SC kit layout 1

These layouts are quite basic for me as I havn’t had a lot of time to spend on them this week, however that is a nice advantage of using an 8X6 handbook, they didn’t take me too long.

How are your January layouts going?

cropped-logo2.jpg

2 thoughts on “Studio Calico Kit – first timer

  1. Lovely blog! I’m thinking of subscribing to calico. The kit looks great. I too come from england (Essex so not too far from you) and have been looking for a good kit to subscribe to xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

