How to: Project Life for beginners

This time last year I was a Project life newbie. I came across the concept and fell in love. I had a 10% off voucher for Hobbycraft and purchased a 12×12 album and the Blush core kit.  I am not one that usually sticks with projects, I usually get bored or loose interest, but I wanted something that I had to complete and stick to. My husband is a photographer and I am an enthusiast, so having to do something with the images and present them to look back on, was something that appealed to me.

After a shaky start in January making do with the basics I got into my stride.

Project life kraft kit Project life for beginners

My process:

My 2014 album mainly consists of photos from my Iphone 5/6. The images are automatically organised in date order, apart from adjusting the brightness or cropping i also rarely edited the pictures. I print my images using the Canon Selphy with 6X4 paper. I found it so much easier printing images when i need and make design choices as I complete individual layouts.

I have to admit – I don’t really plan in advance except a quick sketch for the position of the weeks photos for printing sizes. This will change a little this year to help me keep up to date.

Planning Project Life

My top 3 Project Life tips for beginners:

  1. Your phone is your friend. I do plan to use my DSLR more this year, but for everyday moments (such as the dog fighting a pair of socks) that’s not always possible.
  2. Don’t get too far behind. A few hours one day a week on a quite TV night or on a Sunday, is enough to do a couple of spreads, the more i got behind the more daunting it was to get started.
  3. Find your own style. I am a big massive Pinterest fan, and I am always looking for inspiration and ideas, although mine never look quite as glamorous, they are mine.

Enjoy a new (addictive) hobby!

signature

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/13410463/?claim=nf3a6ra972r”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

2 thoughts on “How to: Project Life for beginners

Leave a Reply

